The Salvation Army's membership consists of adherents, soldiers and officers. Adherents are persons who consider The Salvation Army their place of worship. Soldiers are required to sign a declaration of faith and practice - known as Articles of War - and must give volunteer service to The Army. Soldiers who have served for more than six months may apply to the College for Officers' Training, and, if accepted, enroll as cadets.



Major Raphael Jackson

Divisional Commander

Major Sandra Jackson
Spiritual Life Development Secretary



Full Corps Listing



The Salvation Army in Greater Pittsburgh is governed with the assistance of local business and civic leaders - a network of experts who have agreed to give the organization meaningful help on a regular basis. The Greater Pittsburgh Advisory Board members help The Salvation Army achieve its mission, purpose and objectives through the contribution of their work, wealth and wisdom. Each member was selected for how their experience and knowledge

2019 Advisory Board Members (Click Here)


Western Pennsylvania DHQ Staff


Personnel Department/Allegheny County Operations:

Major Philip A. Lloyd
General Secretary

Erica Washington
Human Resources Manager


Development Department:

Fran Brace
Director of Development and Service Extension Director

Lauren Brant
Divisional Director of Fundraising

Ava Henderson
Director of PR/Marketing

Zack D'Ulisse
Graphic & Web Creative Design Manager

Wendy Jankowski
Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations

Lisa Young
Planned Giving Director

Dianne Picard
Planned Giving Coordinator

Cheryl Lockhart
Manager of Direct Mail Services;
Planned Giving/Donor Relations Assistant

Darcy Kucenic
Senior Donor Relations Director

Erin Ehrlich
Donor Relations Director

Carolyn Morrison
Donor Relations Administrative Assistant

Andrew Cader
Project Bundle-Up Director

Victoria Gill
Project Bundle-Up Coordinator

Ellen Benedetto
Service Unit Coordinator

Lois Newton
Service Unit Secretary

Cherie Hugh
Development Coordinator

Betsy Stubna
Corporate Parnership Manager


Business Administration/Program Department:

Major Jodi E. Lloyd
Program Secretary

Major Migdalia Lavenbein
Divisional Candidates' Secretary
Associate Divisional Youth Secretary

Major Timothy K. Lavenbein
Divisional Youth Secretary
Associate Divisional Candidates' Secretary

Major Amy Merchant
Women's Ministries Secretary

Major Brian Merchant
Finance Officer

Major Kathleen M. Waddell
Special Projects Officer

Captain Debra L. Laro
Command KeepSAfe Coordinator
Retired Officer Representative

Captain Michael Laro
Finance Secretary

Captain Sharon Tressler
Finance Officer
Fellowship of the Silver Star Secretary; Retired Officer Representative

Captain Ted Tressler III
Finance Officer
Community Care Ministries Secretary; Veterans Affairs Representative

Dale Snyder 

Divisional IT Manager

Nathan Young 

Brad LaBarbera


Emergency Disaster Services (EDS):

Michael Riemer
EDS Director

Kody Crosson
Assistant EDS Director

Reid Scharding
Facilities Manager

William Hardy
Fleet Operations Manager

John Hlafcsak
Business Manager of Re-Sale Shop

Thomas Perez
Operations and Volunteer Coordinator

Bob Finan
Warehouse Coordinator